Thread: realistic budget for common Z repairs

Member ID
    CZCC-30798

Default realistic budget for common Z repairs

Hi,

I'm currently looking to buy a 240z, in the $5.000 to $10.000 price range. This often means dealing with some repairs, and I'm wondering how much time and money (in parts) it will take to do common repairs to these cars.

Consider that I'm not a professional mechanic, but a fast learner. The only related experience I have is rebuilding the engine and suspension on my motor cycle when I was 16. (14 years ago)

I'm just listing the first repairs that comes to mind. How much time and money would it take to repair/rebuild the following?:
    front suspension
    steering
    rear suspension
    seats
    engine
    gear box
    clutch
    differential
    brakes
    brake lines
    fuel delivery
    rubber seals around doors/windows/rear hatch
    common rust repairs?

Hopefully this will make it easier to judge which cars I should consider buying, and which issues I should avoid dealing with. Thanks in advance!
    Last edited by AMelbye; 09-09-2014 at 10:30 AM.

Member ID
    CZCC-22303

Here's a document I posted a while back - a complete rundown of all expenses incurred in my resto effort. It doesn't cover all your questions but a lot of them. My car was not bent or broken, and it had no rust issues. Hope this gives you some insight.

As to time required, I have 2 1/2 years in my project (I'm retired) but there was 9 months of downtime while the car was at the paint shop followed by another 6 month stay for some paint corrections. The paint shop time was long because it was a collision shop and very busy with fast turnaround jobs while the owner had my car as his personal project.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Z Restoration Report.pdf  

Jim Arnett
    HLS30-15320 12/1970, original owner
    L24-020208 (original)
    IZCC Original Owner Registry #53

Member ID
    CZCC-19635

Welcome!