Thread: Gunk or something in gas tank!

Member ID
    CZCC-21059

Default Gunk or something in gas tank!

Hello everyone, Z newbie here again requesting help. I got my Z running again although it was running very, very poorly. I bought it back in December and it had been sitting since '03. The previous owner said there was old gas in the tank and so I drained it, filled it back up and after changing everything from the plugs to all the 'pumps' in the engine bay, I ran it for a while. I recently changed my fuel filter because my Z was not running, seeming to be starved of fuel (delayed response when stepping on gas, 'choking' and jerking when I floor it.) Anywho... I was very surprised (not in a good way) when I removed the fuel filter I put back in December, when I noticed it weighed about a quarter pound. Inside there is all this build up of gunk or something. It is brown and it almost looks like modeling clay, although it is soft like a paste, probably because it was mixing with the fuel. I know I need to clean out my tank, but I was wonder if:

1. Anyone knows what this gunk side is? and
    2. If it would be an easy DIY to clean out the tank?

Thanks in advance for all of your help!

Member ID
    CZCC-15137

The most effective way would be to drop the tank and send it out for cleaning.

You can continue to "dilute" the crud, but that will take a lot of time and a lot of gas and a lot of fuel filters.
    First & Third owner of HLS30-00721
    B. 01/70 D. 03/12

New owner of HLS30-15653
    B. 12/70 D.

Frank in Houston, Texas

Member ID
    CZCC-7517

Agreed.
    If it's been sitting and you can see settling in the filter, it's probably in the lines: if it's in the lines, it's probably in the tank.
    You run the risk of sucking it up and clogging the lines even further or completely.

Supposedly, a radiator shop will accept it and should be able to 'boil out' the gas tank for a reasonable amount of money.
    Bart