Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: is there a six spd transmission that will bolt to my 280z how do u bypass tach wires

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Member ID
    CZCC-29082
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    stockton ca
    Posts
    13

    Default is there a six spd transmission that will bolt to my 280z how do u bypass tach wires

    Hey guys! good to b back. just want to say to everyone who helped me with my alternator swap getting the wiring right a big thank u! Alternator is working great! I need to know how u could bypass the four wires harness to my tach. Not working, so I'm trying to get it to work again. Also is there a 6spd tranny that will bolt up to my 280z? Installing rear struts, does anyone know how much oil and what kind of oil the struts take?

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Member ID
    CZCC-26864
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Durango, Colorado, United States
    Posts
    692

    Default

    Struts are normally sealed units.

    And why do you want a six speed? Better fuel economy? Speeds over 130mph?

  3. #3
    Barn Find Daily Driver Captain_Zeros's Avatar
    Member ID
    CZCC-21373
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Kirkland, WA
    Age
    30
    Posts
    316

    Default

    It's typical to put a small amount of oil inside the strut tube with the sealed unit, check your shock insert's manufacturer documentation, not all are designed to be oiled. The oil is just for helping heat transfer between the insert and the strut tube so specific lubrication & viscosity properties are fairy irrelevant, and general procedure is to use whatever oil is handy, plain old engine oil does the job fine.

    I don't know of any bolt-in 6 speed solutions.

    As far as the tach, I'm not sure what you mean, 280Zs should have a three wire tach and it shouldn't matter whether it's hooked up or not as far as making the engine run, not like the early 4 wire 240z current triggered tachs.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Member ID
    CZCC-29082
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    stockton ca
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Thanks Durango for ur response regarding the struts. My tranny is getting old and I thought to replace it with another 5spd, maybe I can install a 6spd. But you r right. Don't need to go 130mph. : ) Thanks again.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Member ID
    CZCC-29082
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    stockton ca
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Thanks Capt. Zero for your response on the struts and the tach issue. I thought the struts were sealed but wouldn't hurt to put a little oil to keep them cool. Thank you again.

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Member ID
    CZCC-26864
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Durango, Colorado, United States
    Posts
    692

    Default

    I thought maybe you liked to shift a lot. Or else owned stock in Sachs....

  7. #7
    Low Budget/High Value
    Member ID
    CZCC-20342
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Washington County, OR
    Posts
    3,629

    Default

    Nothing wrong with wanting a more modern 6 speed transmission. If there was an easy swap, there would be a bunch of 6 speed Z cars out there. But there is no easy swap, not even an adapter you can buy. I think that I've seen some adapters that people have built for themselves, but they're not available for purchase.
    1976 280Z, with some minor modifications

  8. #8
    Rust Free'ish zKars's Avatar
    Member ID
    CZCC-12190
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Calgary, AB Canada
    Posts
    1,256

    Default

    there is a thread on hybridz about a 6 speed swap. Not simple or cheap, requires welding two bell housings and some mighty exact line-up...
    -----------------------------------------
    Jim
    73 240Z HLS30 149331
    69 510 PL510 77603

    www.zKars.com
    www.calgaryzclub.ca
    Reference materials
    www.xenonS30.com

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Member ID
    CZCC-29082
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    stockton ca
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Thanks Captain Zero. Do you know which wires from the tach go to distributor and coil and resister? I don't know if any of the wires is connected to resistor.I do know one of the wires is connected to a light source. B great if you can help! Thanks again.

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Member ID
    CZCC-29082
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    stockton ca
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Hey Wade! I wish I did own some stocks! Just would like to have a modern 6spd that's all. thanks

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Member ID
    CZCC-29082
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    stockton ca
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Thanks for your reply Zed Head! Its too bad for us there isn't a kit for the Z's. Maybe a lot of owners would like to get one for themselves. I wonder if the 350z tranny would fit with some kind of special made bell housing? Anyway, thanks again.

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Member ID
    CZCC-29082
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    stockton ca
    Posts
    13

    Default

    I just checked my timing and its looks like the crank pulley goes in and out about a 1/8 of an inch. I never saw that on any car except now. I know that there is a spacer in there. Could that make the crank pulley move like that? The crank bolt is on and I rechecked the torque and is correct. Thus anyone one have the same thing going on? or is this something normal for the 75 280z? THANKS.

  13. #13
    Low Budget/High Value
    Member ID
    CZCC-20342
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Washington County, OR
    Posts
    3,629

    Default

    Not normal. See if the center moves also or if it's just the pulley and outer ring. The outer metal and pulley are bonded to the center hub with rubber. The rubber is the damping material. It wears out eventually.
    1976 280Z, with some minor modifications

  14. #14
    Registered User doradox's Avatar
    Member ID
    CZCC-14809
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Colfax, IN
    Posts
    708

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hotflames280z View Post
    I just checked my timing and its looks like the crank pulley goes in and out about a 1/8 of an inch. I never saw that on any car except now. I know that there is a spacer in there. Could that make the crank pulley move like that? The crank bolt is on and I rechecked the torque and is correct. Thus anyone one have the same thing going on? or is this something normal for the 75 280z? THANKS.
    One of the crankshaft main bearings also controls thrust (fore/aft movement of the crankshaft) and could be worn.

    Steve

  15. #15
    Registered User doradox's Avatar
    Member ID
    CZCC-14809
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Colfax, IN
    Posts
    708

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hotflames280z View Post
    I just checked my timing and its looks like the crank pulley goes in and out about a 1/8 of an inch. I never saw that on any car except now. I know that there is a spacer in there. Could that make the crank pulley move like that? The crank bolt is on and I rechecked the torque and is correct. Thus anyone one have the same thing going on? or is this something normal for the 75 280z? THANKS.
    One of the crankshaft main bearings also controls thrust (fore/aft movement of the crankshaft) and could be worn.

    Steve

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Help with tach on a stock 78 280Z Please
    By RPM Resto & Custom in forum Electrical (S30)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-30-2013, 12:33 PM
  2. 2 Cut Wires - Dangling Under Dash (1975 280Z)
    By rsperegrin1 in forum Electrical (S30)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-18-2013, 03:00 PM
  3. 78 280z fuse box hack. wires everywhere.
    By no.never in forum Electrical (S30)
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 11-23-2012, 10:25 PM
  4. recommended plugs and dist. wires on my '75 280Z
    By shadesh in forum Engine and Drivetrain (S30)
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 04-06-2008, 03:10 PM
  5. 240Z Tach with 280Z ign.
    By JEFF in forum Electrical (S30)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-23-2003, 12:30 PM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •