Thread: Dash Lights

Member ID
    CZCC-1383

Question Dash Lights

I just purchase a 1970 240z that is in overall very good shape.
    I noticed that the dash light is very dim. when I put on the gas it gets a little brighter but no where it should be. Could this be the coil or voltage switch???

Member ID
    CZCC-1377

Well I will start off by saying I am not a mechanic but I donít think the coil would have anything to do with it. The coil just puts out power to the Distributor.

And for your sake I hope you donít have to put new bulbs in, I wanted blue dash lights on my 82' and now that was a pain. Had to take the whole dash off and wiggle around feeling for the wholes to put the bulbs in. Good luck
    Z for Life

Member ID
    CZCC-1383

Default Dash lights

I am kind of doubting it would be the bulbs because all of the guages are reacting that way. It seems its comming from the electrical sourc. Any thoughts??

Member ID
    CZCC-1320

Default I kind of have the same problem.

I have the same problem with my dash lights and head lights in my '71 240. If I am just idleing they are dim, higher the rpm's brighter the lights. I have been told it may be the alternator. I haven't had it checked yet though. Good luck with it, and let me know what you come up with please. I am going to try to get mine tested this week, I will let you know.
    71 Fairlady, So Sweet
    a.k.a. 1badbamafan

Member ID
    CZCC-1383

Thanks for the reply. I sure would like to hear what you found.
    Mark

Member ID
    CZCC-1398

The dim lights are"normal" for 240's. I've had 4 they all did it .The voltage regulator can be tweeked to solve the problem,but only by someone who understands auto electrics.Severe damage can occur if this is not done correctly!

Member ID
    CZCC-1383

Default dash lights

Daniel, do you think that if they are very dim to the point they are almost dark that it could need a new voltage switch or possibly somethink else.

Mark

Member ID
    CZCC-1398