Thread: Fuel pump problem?

Member ID
    CZCC-7346

Default Fuel pump problem fixed! Now sputtering after 3500rpm...

Ok guys, picked up my 72 240 today and already started working on it. The Good; has the round top SU's on it (built before 9/72 i guess), and the Single point distributor (prime pertronix conversion).

The bad; Won't start. Checked ignition that's good. Fuel looks real filthy in the fuel filter, but no gum/gunk in the lines. Sprayed starter fluid in the intakes and she fired up one crank! But then she dies. It's running on the starter fluid only.

Here's my question:

I stuck the feed hose in a tank of clean gas with a new filter. If you look at the clear filter it looks like the gas is barely being sucked in by the Fuel pump. You literally see it trickling into the filter. I have no experience with mechanical F pumps, is this normal or is my pump bad?

I would think the filter would be full of fuel and you wouldn't see any air in there to even see it tricke in.

Let me know what you think.

Thanks,
    Jay
    Last edited by Jayru; 12-08-2004 at 01:58 PM.

Member ID
    CZCC-791

You will see some air in the filter. Has the car sat without running for a long time?

How long did you try to start the car with the alternate fuel supply?
    Remember these pumps only generate a few lbs of pressure, not like an EFI fuel pump. It can take a bit of time for the fuel to fill the lines and float bowls of the carbs.

See http://www.classiczcars.com/forums/s...4&page=1&pp=15 for an example of what other people find in cases similar to what you describe.

Member ID
    CZCC-7346

Nothing like that thread, the lines are clean and ungunked. Besides, it won't start with the new fuel supply line in the gas can. We let it run for about 2 minutes on the starter fluid with the new line/gas can, and still wouldn't stay running.