Thread: High compression N/A build question

Member ID
    CZCC-23084

Default High compression N/A build question

I'd like to do a high CR N/A build. I have an L24 e88 head with a fresh reground cam .460 280/280. Guessing the bottom end is stock. Dual webers 32/36

After searching I don't see much info on using the e88 head for an NA build, everyone seems to be going with a n47 or p90 i believe

My questions

1st how do I know what block I have?

2nd should I get an l28 with one of the other heads for a good NA build? And, if that's what I do will the cam I have work in the other head?

3rd will the e88 make a good high compression head? maybe with some work done? or is this not cost effective?

I am not an experienced mechanic....but I have been able to do almost all the work myself so far and would like to as I want this car to teach me as much as possible. The cam had to be reground due to a broken oiler and a wiped lobe. I have a friend who is a pro and he helped my check wipe pattern, timing and tune the car when I did the cam.

My goals are somewhere close to 200whp

Member ID
    CZCC-7622

There is ton of info on this site and Hybridz on this subject-what info have you found by searching?
    If it's a l24 block it should be marked p-30. What year e-88 makes a difference too. The early e-88s are good heads-but how much compression do you want to run? What gas are you going to run? That cam won't allow a lot of compression on today's premium gas.

200HP is a reasonable goal and there is a large thread at Hybridz right now covering this.

The power is mostly in the head and lots of tuning. Probably tuning more than anything.
    Steve
    71 240z,bw-5sp 2.4-40 over,balanced,e-88,big valves,ported&polished, stage2,header, triple Mikuni's 40's
    3.90 Subaru STI LSD

Member ID
    CZCC-23084