Thread: 280Z Running Rich-- How to Fix?

Member ID
    CZCC-6575

Default 280Z Running Rich-- How to Fix?

Hello all.

I'm a newbie to the Z world-- just bought a very nice 76 280Z:

http://devnulled.com/gallery/280Z-calitocolorado

I've worked on / modified DSM's for around 5 years, and can do about anything on them without a problem except rebuild engines, trannies, etc by hand, but decided it was time for something new.

Anyhow, on the drive home, I noticed it was running very rich. I had an emissions test done today, and they also confirmed that it was rich.

Being that it's fuel injection, I'm not quite sure where to start. I would assume that perhaps the spark is not strong enough? I have some new Taylor wires and NGK plugs to throw on this weekend, so that's a start. Any other suggestions on how to get the car running at stoich?

Also-- what is the torque spec and gap for the spark plugs? I'll order the CD Manual soon so I won't have to ask dumb questions like those last two soon.

Thanks,

- Brandon
    Last edited by brandon; 05-11-2004 at 08:30 PM.

Member ID
    CZCC-6575

I should mention that switching to carbs is not an option for me. I love fuel injection.

Also, the fuel system in the car was totally replaced within the last couple of years.. all new injectors, hoses, etc.

Resident Insomniac
    Member ID
    CZCC-5982

I have a '75, and some similar questions to yours. I am thinking that the "cold start" injector may be the culprit in my case. I am not sure though. Anyone know if it will cause any problems if I disconnect the cold start injector (leave it in place, but remove its electrical connection)?
    Drive it like you stole it.

'75 280Z (my baby)- '07 350Z (daily driver)- '86 944 Turbo (Track Car)

Member ID
    CZCC-2169