Thread: Need advice: Adding to the garage... Duetto anyone

Supporting Member Zedyone_kenobi's Avatar
    Member ID
    CZCC-16285

Default Need advice: Adding to the garage... Duetto anyone

I am looking into buying the wife a project car that she can drive around. She desperately wants an E-type, but 100k is not in the budget. But a 1967 Alfa Duetto is more than possible.

have any of you guys ever dabbled in these cars? I am looking to buy one in very good shape. I plan to fully execute the buy the best one I can possibly afford mantra.

But does anybody here have experience with these cars?
    1971 240Z HLS30-38691
    93.9% done and getting better every day
    Now with 100% more DATSUN SPIRIT L28 Power
    1968 Datsun 2000 SRL311-03416

Boat Anchor Repairman Captain Obvious's Avatar
    Member ID
    CZCC-24608

I have lots of experience with it's hardtop predecessor. A 61 Giulietta Sprint. [sigh...]

What advice can I provide? Same as a Z. Buy one that has as little rust on it as you can afford. Other than that, everything is easy. The driveline is rugged assuming it hasn't been abused, but the rust is the big issue. Interior is "just money".

Other thoughts? You've got the choice between Veloce ("Performance" model), and Normale ("Normal" model). Veloce commands more money. Your wife probably doesn't need one, and your wallet will be thankful. Your troubleshooting time will be thankful as well.

Beyond that?
    Lucas electricals - The only thing worse is Marelli.
    Girling brakes - As bad of a reputation as Lucas electricals.

I love the old Alfas.... If I had more room, I'd still have one.

Member ID
    CZCC-24608

And, I've still got some old books and repair literature, etc that I would be more than happy to send you if you pull the trigger and buy something like that. Just LMK.

Member ID
    CZCC-4148